Meandering Through the Writings of Others as lament Practice: Hebrew Scriptures, Jeremiah 27-52

“Pylons at Shipyards Waterfront, North Vancouver”

photo by DS

Here are my explorations:

Jeremiah 27-52

When Jeremiah had finished his message

Saying everything the Lord had told him to

The priests and false prophets and all

The people in the Temple mobbed him

The pillars of bronze standing before the temple

And the great bronze basin in the Temple court

And the metal stands and all the other ceremonial

Articles left here by Nebuchadnezzar king of 

Babylon when he exiled all the important people

Will all yet be carried away to Babylon and

Will stay there until I send for them then

I will bring them all back to Jerusalem again

To all the captives he has exiled from Jerusalem

To Babylon

Build homes and plan to stay

Plant vineyards

Work for the peace and prosperity of Babylon

Pray for her for if Babylon has peace so will you

I know the plans I have for you says the Lord

Plans for good and not for evil

In those days when you pray I will listen

You will find me if you look for me in earnest

God will rescue them

I will give you back your health again

And heal your wounds

Thank you God

I have loved you oh my people with an

Everlasting love

With lovingkindness I have drawn you to me

I will make a new contract with the people of

Israel and Judah

And I will forgive and forget their sins

You have made the heavens and the earth is

Anything too hard for you

Ask me and I will tell you some remarkable

Secrets about what is going to happen here

As a reward for trusting me

I will  preserve your life and keep you safe

I will save you from far away and

Bring your children from a distant land

My people have been lost sheep

Their shepherds have led them astray

Lead my people home again

Their Redeemer is strong His name is

The Lord of Hosts he will plead for

Them and see that they are freed to live

Again in quietness in Israel

Idols are nothing they are lies

I will be your lawyer

I will plead you case

I will avenge you

There were ninety-six pomegranates

On the sides and on the network

Around about there were a hundred more.

. . .

Leave a comment