Meandering Through the Writings of Others as a Lament Practice: Hebrew Scriptures, I Kings to II Chronicles

“Bridge from the Gallery” DS

As I write today and play with words, I notice that there is a strand of three to my writing: Scriptures, the tales of others in novels, and a touch of my own story. This is abundant life. Here are my explorations:

Hebrew Scriptures: I Kings to II Chronicles

Latticework

Pillars

Four hundred pomegranates

Ten movable stands

Ten vats

Pots, shovels, basins

Made of burnished bronze

Honest confession

She decided to test him with some

Hard questions

Which way did he go?

There will always be plenty of flour and oil

Left in your containers

Young prophets of

Bethel Seminary

What wish shall I grant you

Before I am taken away?

Feed one hundred men with

Only this?

You aren’t to blame,

He told them.

As soon as the body touched

Elisha’s bones

The dead man revived and

Jumped to his feet

You created the heavens

And the earth

A remnant of my people shall become

Strong in Jerusalem

Only the poorest and

Least skilled people were left

In the land

When they wandered from

Country to country

Commandments so you may

Continue to live in this

Good land forever

Who will give himself and

All he has to the Lord

Then they feasted and drank

Before the Lord with

Great joy

A veil of blue and crimson 

Fine-spun linen

Decorated with angels

100 pomegranates attached

To the chains

A bronze altar

Thirty feet long

Thirty feet wide

And fifteen feet high

A huge round tank 

Fifteen feet across

Ten vats for water

Ten gold lampstands

The band and chorus

United as one

The glory of the Lord

Coming as a bright cloud

Filled the Temple

So the priests could not

Continue their work

Humble and pray

Heal their land

Good work will be rewarded

We don’t know what to do

But we are looking to you

Stand quietly and see incredible

Rescue from God

Everyone must pay

For his own sins

Manasseh consulted mediums

And fortune tellers

A did every so rot evil

Warnings from God

Were ignored

Then at last he came to himself

And asked God

For help

I have heard you

And will not send evil

On this city

Build me a Temple

In Jerusalem.

Leave a comment