Kindling the Fire

The reading echoes my experience on this cold rainy day in the pandemic. The third atmospheric river will arrive this afternoon. My first task is to prepare a box for mailing before a Zoom class at 10:00am. I light the fireplace, then eat some Raisin Bran, drink some Folger’s. My eyes land on the tablet page:

Ancient Celtic Prayer – Kindling the Fire

This morning, as I kindle the fire upon my hearth, I pray that the flame of God’s love may burn in my heart, and the hearts of all I meet today.

I pray that no envy and malice, no hatred or fear, may smother the flame.

I pray that indifference and apathy. Contempt and pride, may not pour like cold water on the fire.

Instead, may the spark of God’s love light the love in my heart, 

That it may burn brightly through the day.

And may I warm those that are lonely, whose hearts are cold and lifeless,

So that all may know the comfort of God’s love.

“Morning Fire” Phone photo DS

3 thoughts on “Kindling the Fire

    1. shellseeker0913 Post author

      Hi Writersereid, thank you. Here is an exercise from Margaret Silf, Sacred Spaces: Stations on a Celtic Way, to reflect on being by the fire:
      “Remember a place and a time when you felt very much at peace, at home, warm, held, connected or loved. Just recall the details of your experience. Use your senses to help you … Let this memory be like a room in your mind, to which you can return whenever you wish. Let it be your sacred space.”
      Blessings,
      Deborah.

      Reply

Leave a comment