Experiences of Art Series: Werner S.

IMG_1395“Opera Cafe” DS

Interview at Opera Cafe

Bio:

– Retired engineer

– Bought first piece of art with his pocket money – a watercolour of goldfish

– From a family of architects, engineers, farmers and watchmakers of the Black Forest

Art:

– Print of a forest, black on white fabric

– 4 feet wide, 8 feet high

– Natural edges

“It just appeared one day in my youth. My father brought it home saying he bought it. He gave no details. He determined to hang it in our modernist dining room in the suburbs. I always felt it was misplaced there because it limited its visual impact. It hung silently in my parents’ home for five decades.

Now I have inherited the print. It hangs like family history in the glassed entryway here on the North Shore of Vancouver. It acts as a foil to the green trees surrounding the house. It is visible best from the dining room.

I had holidayed in the Black Forest at my great aunt’s place one summer. Her husband taught me the rudiments of mechanical engineering. I was quite good at it. This was not surprising to the family. I am part of the old stock.

Every time I look at it, it has a different meaning for me. It represents distance and closeness to me in the psychological sense. I feel challenged somehow when I look at it. Of all the pieces we inherited from Germany it is the most meaningful.”

IMG_1401“Forest Print – Black Dye on White Fabric” DS

IMG_1406“Back Deck Forest” DS

 

Leave a Reply

