True Colours

P1000842

“Scaffolding” 24″ x 24″ Acrylic on Gallery Canvas

 

Once in a while we are called upon to show our true colours. Such was the case as I considered which gallery to visit this week. A séance would be held at The Gordon Smith Gallery. I wanted to go to pray there for the protection of the attendees.

In preparation for the visit I pray before I go. I will pray there as I view the art. I will pray after the visit.

I view the invitation to the Séance for this evening. My first inclination was to steer clear of this event. Now I feel a need to see the show today before the event in question and then pray at home in the evening. This is unusual for me – to pray on location at a gallery.  Here is what I read:

Please join us for a meditative seance with Marcel Duchamp!

The Smith Gallery will host ‘An Evening With Marcel Duchamp’, comprised of audio recordings of a range of talks Duchamp gave during his lifetime.  

In the darkened confines of our ‘Process Gallery’ Duchamp will discuss his art, life & the readymades that made him famous – some 48 years after his death in 1968.  

This exploration of Duchamp in his own words lasts approximately 45 minutes.

I must add that I do not promote the event but consider this an uninvitation! Or perhaps an invitation for added prayer for protection those who will attend.

Link to Duchamp who changed forever how we think about art:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marcel_Duchamp

Epilogue:

I went, I saw, I prayed, and enjoyed the show very much. Gordon Smith was well represented by a 4-foot white painted tree root. Douglas Coupland’s multi-coloured thread spools bring awe again to the everyday object(s). The evening event, with its low key invitation, seemed to be a harking back to remembering rather than practicing any dark spirituality – but I do not know. I was not there. As a former mentor said, chew the meat and throw out the bones. We pick and choose what we want to be involved in.  We build and show the colours of the scaffolding of our inner lives also by what we support or decline.

“Our struggle is not against flesh and blood…” 

Book of Ephesians

Leave a Reply

