Unloading the Dishwasher

I have not regularly unloaded the dishwasher for years. It was always my husband’s chore. I ignored the process unless there was a quality control issue. He never complained. Now he watches, unable to help, but supportive as always.

Over the past few months, I have noticed a pattern emerging of loading and unloading, of placement and displacement. I notice this morning that it has become a contemplative practice for me. It is like a form of Tai Chi, a whole body exercise, as I move back and forth between cupboard and dishwasher.

I find myself thinking about the day ahead. I pray for people, for situations, for grace…

They say that the best way to learn is to teach. The past six weeks have been filled with contemplative practices – often in theory. I speak of contemplative knitting as we get to know both ourselves and God and of contemplative collage as a way of waiting and discernment for the way ahead.

Undocumented until today, I practice without awareness – contemplative unloading of the dishwasher. This must be similar to – an updated version of – Brother Lawrence’s prayer while peeling potatoes of four centuries ago. God companions us when we are unaware – even as we develop our awareness skills. Hmm.

“Fall on my Knees” lyrics

http://thebrowders.com/lyrics/onmyknees.pdf

for the song check out Matthew Browder on youtube

IMG_3112

“Unloading the Dishwasher” DS

2 thoughts on “Unloading the Dishwasher

    1. shellseeker0913 Post author

      Hi Theresa. I have been writing in this blog for almost three years now. I took a social media course at Emily Carr University and wanted to try out what I had learned. It has become an important part of my writing practice. It is eclectic yet consistently touches on daily art, faith and life practices. Let me know if there are any particular subjects that would be interesting for my followers to read about. Blessings to you in your work, faith and life, Deborah.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

