KNITTING BY MOONLIGHT

IPad Photo - the light of the full moon is echoed by the light in the room

IPad Photo – the light of the full moon is echoed by the light in the room – DS

A desire to knit pulled me into the garden room on my way to turn in for the night. I sat down, pulled the green shawl around me and took up my knitting. I often pray the Jesus Prayer as I sit to contemplate. Green and grey, purl and knit, or knit all the way across, forms the rhythm. I now pray Breath Prayers for my loved one whose birth day was quite a while ago.

Scenes from the happy past appear in my mind as I glance through the blinds at the full moon. I feel called to this unusual task. As I knit by moonlight it feels memorable like other things one will never forget. This night, this night, will my prayers be answered?

Many years I have prayed for the one who is far away. This way I keep her close waiting for that hoped for day. Promised blessings form my soulscape for her as she lives and moves and has her being.

As my pink needles stop their inherited journey I stop to wonder if my knitting grandmother experienced this peace in praying. I paused to wonder if this silver night would mark a turning point in my loved one’s faith and life. We come from a long line of knitters and prayers. It is who we are. Thanks be to God.

Colossians 2:2

That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ;

Leave a Reply

